skip to Main Content

In comes the debut release from Robert James’ Body Movement label. Inspired by his party of the same name, Rob takes charge of the label’s first EP with three brand new cuts that showcase his deep appreciation of electronic music, plus a remix from underground hero Voigtmann.

Revenge Of The Wasp kicks things off, channeling mid-nineties electro techno a la Drexciya, with Rob crafting a
mesmerising journey into the cosmos. Life Grooves is a party starter, with its pumping beats and booming bassline
progressing into dreamy techno atmospherics. On the flip we have the aptly-titled Break Mode with its insistent break loop supporting soft, swirling pads, solemn bass and a mysterious vocal clip. Lastly, Voigtmann’s remix of Break Mode softens the overall feel of the track, cultivating a smoother, more laid back aura.

“About 4 years ago I decided to take a break from producing and had lost the love for DJing. My inspiration had gone and I wasn’t happy with things in life. I knew playing records was my favourite thing to do but I wasn’t enjoying it in clubs. I needed to get that inspiration back and I was trying to work out where I got it from in the first place. Little did I know it was right there in front of me all of this time… the dancefloor. So over the past few years I’ve been back on the dancefloor, going to festivals, throwing parties, watching my favourite DJ’s play in clubs and finally getting that inspiration back. This time with a whole new sound and a love for music again. They say sometimes you have to go backwards to go forwards and with that being said I’m proud to present Body Movement the label. This has been in the pipeline for years but it’s taken this long to finally craft it. I want this label to be a mixture of different styles of electronic music that I’ve grown to love over the years. House, minimal, electro, breaks and so on. I thought I’d do the first release with three completely different tracks and a cracking remix by Voigtmann. So here you go the start of something new by myself with 100% love back in it”. Robert James

Release date: November 29th, 2019.


Back To Top