skip to Main Content

Jon Hopkins announces new album ‘Music For Psychedelic Therapy’

‘A merging of music, nature, and my own desire to heal’.

Jon Hopkins has revealed details about his upcoming new album ‘Music For Psychedelic Therapy’. To be out via Domino this November 11th, the nine-track record was inspired by a life-affirming trip to Cueva De Los Tayos, a cave in the Ecuadorian Andes.

‘It felt like time for a reset, to wait for music to appear from a different place. What grew from this experience is an album with no beats, not one drum sound, something that is closer to a classical symphony than a dance / electronica record. Something that is more like having an experience than listening to a piece of music. Maybe something far more emotionally honest than I had been comfortable making before—a merging of music, nature, and my own desire to heal. The freedom from traditional rhythmic structures unlocked so much—it felt like I was free to explore a new form of rhythm, one that you discover when you just allow things to flow without letting yourself get in the way,’ explains Hopkins.

In line with the announcement, Hopkins also took the opportunity to share ‘Sit Around The Fire’, the first single from the upcoming LP, a collaboration with the late Ram Dass and ceremony guide East Forest. The video showcases animated imagery from Ram Dass’s quintessential book ‘Be Here Now’.

Watch the video for ‘Sit Around The Fire’ below.


  1. Welcome
  2. Tayos Caves, Ecuador i
  3. Tayos Caves, Ecuador ii
  4. Tayos Caves, Ecuador iii
  5. Love Flows Over Us In Prismatic Waves
  6. Deep In The Glowing Heart
  7. Ascending, Dawn Sky
  8. Arriving
  9. Sit Around The Fire (with Ram Dass, East Forest)
Back To Top