skip to Main Content

Craig and Moonear invited to Cocoon’s summer compilation

Once a year Sven Vath’s Cocoon stamps its authority on the techno world with a summer – Ibiza based – compilation. In this ocassion the german label has invited Detroit pioneer Carl Craig next to contemporary Swiss heroine, Sonja Moonear.

On the first CD Carl Craig, a second wave techno pioneer and head of the cult Planet E label selects a group of cutting-edge tracks from fellow legends like DJ Pierre (remixed by Ricardo Villalobos), Luciano (remixed by Dennis Ferrer), DJ Deep and Agoria. Craig creates a solid journey with these fine component parts and marries power and deepness from start to finish. The techno session features his exclusive C2 intro edit of Luca Ballerini’s ‘Impressions Of A Dawn’ as well as two more of his remixes of Nicole Moudaber and Agoria that help add yet more class to the overall affair.

Swiss artist Sonja Moonear, is in charge of the second CD. Sonja’s sound is  rooted in minimalism; slick, stripped back house and techno that is masterfully lean yet also compelling. Her sets are always hugely rhythmic and seductive affairs whether operating at the moody or more vibrant end of the spectrum.

Her mix selection starts deep and housey with the likes of Franck Roger, Brett Johnson, Elbee Bad and Alex Under, her mix develops pretty soon into a freaky and technoid sound that beams you straight back to Cocoon’s legendary Monday night event at Amnesia. Also included are some all time Cocoon favorites by John Tejada and Ricardo Villalobos (together with Argenis Brito) and the result is a slinky and seductive mix that makes a big impact in truly subversive ways.

The Compilation drops on stores on August 16th.


CD 1 – Carl Craig 

1. Luca Ballerini – Impressions Of A Dawn (Alba In 4/4) – (C2 Intro Edit)
2. DJ Pierre – What Is House Muzik (Ricardo Villalobos What Is Remix)
3. Luciano – 7 Directions (Dennis Ferrer Drum Mix)
4. Publicist – Spread It Around
5. DJ Deep – Surge
6. Mark Fancuilli – Can You Translate
7. Mark Broom – Decay
8. Floorplan – Push On
9. Adventice – Chop Chop
10. Nicole Moudaber & Skin – Someone Like You (C2 Remix)
11. Oxia – Domino
12. Joao Ceser – 5th Dimension
13. Chymera – Episode
14. Luca Ballerini – Impressions Of A Dawn (Alba In 4/4)
15. Agoria – Speechless (C2 Remix)

CD 2 – Sonja Moonear

1. Elbee Bad – New Age House
2. Ralphi Rosario’s Energy Factor – Music, Music (The I Humped Mix)
3. Brett Johnson & Cpen – You Got Me Going Crazy (Berlin Dub)
4. Franck Roger & D’julz – Dubwize
5. DKMA – Creepin
6. The Mingers – Emancipation (The Mingers Button Dub)
7. Plastic – Translated Translations Translated
8. Alex Under – Gris
9. The Wise Caucasian – Darkside
10. The Persuader – Vattungarna
11. Jonsson/Alter – Djup House (Dorisburg Remix)
12. XDB – Gate
13. Anthony Parasole – Wild Life
14. John Tejada – Fourier Transform
15. Alex Piccone – M9
16. Andy Rantzen – 98%
17. Ricardo Villalobos & Argenis Brito – Amnesia

Back To Top