skip to Main Content

‘No Photos on the Dance Floor!’ brings together three decades of Berlin techno

The release will be available on vinyl, CD, and digital.

The compilation ‘No Photos on the Dance Floor! Berlin Techno 1992 – Today’, produced by Heiko Hoffmann in association with Above Board Projects, is the continuation of a highly successful photography and video art exhibition of the same name that was co-cured by Hoffmann and displayed in Berlin at the end of 2019.

The show included works by photographers and visual artists such as Wolfgang Tillmans, Romual Karmakar, Sven Marquardt, and Camille Blake, who have been in Berlin’s club culture since the fall of the Wall. This exhibition was followed by a book of the same name that collected the most striking images of the exhibition along with interviews and personal essays, and which was published in 2020.

‘No Photos on the Dance Floor! Berlin Techno 1992 – Today’ is the first compilation that brings together the history of techno made in Berlin over the last three decades, with a selection of classics and hidden treasures that have helped shape the sound of Berlin from the beginning of the 90 until now,’ they explain in the press release.

‘When the Berlin Wall fell in 1989, abandoned spaces and buildings waited to be filled with new life in the form of clubs, bars, galleries, workshops, and studios … The German capital became the epicenter of a new culture of nightlife that soon resonated around the world with a techno scene heavily influenced by the pioneering sounds of Detroit, created by African-American producers such as Juan Atkins, Kevin Saunderson, and Underground Resistance,’ they add.

The Hardwax record store had an exceptional influence on the Berlin DJ scene. In addition, series of parties such as Tekknozid and clubs such as Ufo, Tresor, and Planet led to the birth of the first culture shared between East and West Germany, an event that paved the way for what remains the last and greatest expression of European youth culture.

The first part of the vinyl edition of ‘No Photos on the Dance Floor!’ focuses on the years 1992 to 2006. The second part focuses on the music from 2007 to the present. In addition to the two-part vinyl release, it will also be available in expanded CD and digital formats, with additional tracks by Rødhad, Efdemin, and Ricardo Villalobos. The double vinyl release also includes full-format photographs of George Nebieridze and Wolfgang Tillmans.

The compilation will go on sale on June 25th. Check out the tracklsit below.

Vol. 1 Vinyl: 1992–2006
A1. 3MB feat Juan Atkins – The 4th Quarter
A2. 9-10-Boy – Robocop
A3. Alec Empire – SuEcide
B1. Futurhythm – Phuture
B2. Vainqueur – Lyot (Maurizio Mix)
C1. MMM – Donna
C2. Kotai + Mo – Black Acid (Pt. 1)
D1. Sleeparchive – Elephant Island
D2. Monolake – Alaska (Substance Remix II)

Vol. 2 Vinyl: 2007–Today
A1. Heartthrob – Baby Kate (Plastikman Remix)
A2. Ellen Allien – Go (Marcel Dettmann Remix)
B1. Klockworks – Sean
B2. Wax – Untitled (Wax No 30003 B)
C1. Ancient Methods – Else
C2. Dasha Rush – Outer Space
C3. Avalon Emerson – The Frontier
D1. Barker – Cascade Effect
D2. Modeselektor – Kalif Storch
D3. FJAAK – Breathe

Disc 1: 1992–2006
01. 3MB ft. Juan Atkins – The 4th Quarter
02. 9-10-Boy – Robocop
03. Alec Empire – SuEcide
04. Futurhythm – Phuture
05. Vainqueur – Lyot (Maurizio Mix)
06. MMM – Donna
07. Kotai + Mo – Black Acid (Pt. 1)
08. Sleeparchive – Elephant Island
09. Ricardo Villalobos – Dexter
10. Monolake – Alaska (Substance Remix II)

Disc 2: 2007–Today
01. Heartthrob – Baby Kate (Plastikman Remix)
02. Ellen Allien – Go (Marcel Dettmann Remix)
03. Klockworks – Sean
04. Efdemin – Acid Bells
05. Wax – Untitled (Wax No 30003 B)
06. Rødhåd – Energomash
07. Ancient Methods- Else
08. Dasha Rush – Outer Space
09. Avalon Emerson – The Frontier
10. Barker – Cascade Effect
11. Modeselektor – Kalif Storch
12. FJAAK – Breathe

01. 9-10-Boy – Robocop
02. Alec Empire – SuEcide
03. Futurhythm – Phuture
04. Vainqueur – Lyot (Maurizio Remix)
05. MMM – Donna
06. Kotai + Mo – Black Acid (Part 1)
07. Sleeparchive – Elephant Island
08. Monolake – Alaska (Substance Mix II)
09. Heartthrob – Baby Kate (Plastikman Remix)
10. Ellen Allien – Go (Marcel Dettmann Remix) 08:09
11. Klockworks – Sean
12. Efdemin – Acid Bells
13. Wax – Untitled / W30003 B
14. Rødhåd – Energomash
15. Ancient Methods – Else
16. Dasha Rush – Outer Space
17. Avalon Emerson – The Frontier
18. Barker – Cascade Effect
19. Modeselektor – Kalif Storch
20. FJAAK – Breathe

Back To Top