Skip to content

Ólafur Arnalds in charge of new Late Night Tales compilation

Late Night Tales highly acclaimed compilations are recognized for mixing up top artists with delicate diverse genres selection. This time is no exception as they invited Norwegian star Ólafur Arnalds who crafted a timeless journey standing at the intersection where techno meets classical music.

Ólafur Arnalds career blasted into stardom after releasing the breakthrough album ‘And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness’. In 2014 he was awarded a BAFTA for best original music for the TV series Broadchurch. Arnalds’ music has a quietude that seems perfectly apposite and that’s evident here as each song drifts like an autumn wind towards the next.

The release will also have three exclusive tracks: Kinesthesia I’, ‘RGB’, and ‘Orgoned’.

“When I was asked to do the next installation of the Late Night Tales series I thought “This will be fun and easy, only a couple of days work. No problem!”. Six months later, I was still pulling my hair out in some kind of quest to make the perfect mix. As someone who has never really done mixes before, I learned a lot of things along the way and the whole experience was very inspiring. I decided to approach the mix in a similar way as I would one of my scores. This is the soundtrack of my life. I included songs from many of my friends and collaborators and tried to deliver a mix that represents who I am as an artist and where my influences are coming from – both personally and musically.” – Ólafur Arnalds, March 2016

Ólafur Arnalds’s Late Night Tales is set for release on 24th June 2016.


1. Hjálmar Lárusson and Jónbjörn Gíslason – Jómsvíkingarímur – Ýta Eigi Feldi Rór
2. Julianna Barwick – Forever
3. Koreless – Last Remnants
4. Odesza – How Did I Get Here (Instrumental) (Late Night Tales Exclusive)
5. Anois – A Noise
6. Samaris – Góða Tungl
7. Ólafur Arnalds – RGB (Late Night Tales Exclusive)
8. Rival Consoles – Howl
9. Four Tet – Lion (Jamie xx Remix)
10. Jai Paul – Jasmine
11. James Blake – Our Love Comes Back
12. Spooky Black – Pull
13. Ólafur Arnalds ft. Arnór Dan – Say My Name (Exclusive Cover Version)
14. Sarah Neufeld & Colin Stetson – And still they move
15. Kiasmos – Orgoned (Late Night Tales Exclusive)
16. Ólafur Arnalds – Kinesthesia I (Late Night Tales Exclusive)
17. Hjaltalín – Etheral
18. David Tennant – Undone (Exclusive Spoken Word)




Back To Top