Skip to content

EGLO.007 Afterlife

Top UK Chillout producer Steve Miller – The most played artist in Ibiza last year, at least at thebeach bars and anywhere into lush, lilting, chilled and totally saturated sounds of impeccable taste. He is the sunset phenomenon, purveyor of romantic and melancholic mood music. As AFTERLIFE and LUX he created both opening tracks on Café del Mar vol.7 and 2 further tracks on Café del Mar vol.8. With previous tracks also on volumes 3, 4 and 6. Steve produces Chill “classics” as his “Simplicity 2000” album has proven.

Steve has been producing for a long while and has worked with K – Klass, Jose Padilla, Chris Coco, Lenny Ibizarre and others too numerous to mention. He comes from a jazz/reggae background cutting his engineering and production techniques with the legendary Karl Pitterson who produced Handsworth Revolution by Steel Pulse and engineered the Exodus album for Bob Marley.

The first ever Afterlife gig was played at The Glade in Glastonbury Festival 2000 to a very surprised audience – they were not expecting chillout but loved it all the same. Other gigs in Ibiza during July that year including the exquisite Dreamdaze at Kumharas, Pacha Playa, Base Bar and rounding off by headlining at Cafe Del Mar 20th anniversary
along with A Man Called Adam, Mandalay, Levitation and Trumpetman. The gig was televised by MTV .

During 2002 Steve played the sunset at Café Mambo before going on to chill the crowds at The Roof Terrace at Pacha, Ibiza every week complementing Roger Sanchez in the main room on his Release Yourself nights. Past commissions include Jakatta’s classic “American Dream” and Roger Sanchez’s “Another Chance”. His chillout mix being the only remix making it onto the single which went to number 1 in the UK charts.

2006 saw him start compiling the Café Mambo albums with Pete Gooding and his own Private beach Club albums for I Label to critical acclaim.

Since then Steve has played around the world in the most exotic locations and released the classic “Speck of Gold” album, more recently “Electrosensitive” on Defected Records, and now The White Island and his latest album Shikasta on his own label Subatomic UK.

In 2012 he released the debut NO LOGO album on Chris Coco’s Melodica Recordings which is a collaboration with ex Café Mambo resident Pete Gooding. Steve’s label has 5 tracks on the highly acclaimed Café del Mar Vol.18 which has shown a return to the quality of the early days.

Remix duties included to the two biggest summer chill tracks:- Lana del Rey’s “National Anthem” and Milk n Sugar’s “Via Con Me” which stayed at number 1 in the Beatport Chill chart for over 2 months.

1. Fondue – Absolem (Afterlife Mix)
2. Afterlife – Shikasta
3. Micko Roche – Where there’s love
4. Chris Coco & Afterlife – I know
5. DF Tram – Nightcrawler
6. Blank & Jones – Miracle Man ( Beached Mix)
7. Lux – Overdrive
8. Nick et Samantha – On The Beach
9. Dirty Vegas – Setting Sun (Afterlife Mix)
10. Chambao – Despierta (Afterlife Mix)
11. Blank & Jones – Coming Home (Afterlife Mix)
12. No Logo – Ancestral Melody

Back To Top